Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Though, it may be true that Palean baskets have been found across the Brim river in ‘Lithos’, this itself is not a cogent argument that Palean baskets didn’t specifically belong to Palean people. If those were not uncommon among other non-Palean people then those baskets should have been widespread in far-off non-Palean regions and not just across the Brim River asking to be found and excavated by the archaeologists.

The other assumption takes into account the breadth and depth of the Brim river implying that it is not possible to cross it without a boat and hence the baskets couldn’t be taken along across the river by Palean people. A very logical point is being missed here that even in pre-historic times trade of goods and mobility of the masses existed. Even if the Paleans could not sail across the river due to their presumed inability to make boats, other non-Palean boat making tribes could have simply crossed the river into the Palean villages for barter trading.

The claim that Paleans could not construct boats, which is just based on mere archaeologists’ inability to find some, is extraordinary. It may be a case that just like hitherto the archaeologists were not being able to find Palean baskets in non Palean villages, they are not able to excavate Palean boats in Palean villages and it may be just a matter of time that they may start finding few.

To substantiate the claim that the so-called Palean baskets are not uniquely Palean, the archaeological teams must start looking for them in far flung non-Palean areas not just across a river no matter how deep or broad it is. The claim will further be strengthened if they are able to show that the number of artefacts found in the other non-Palean regions is also comparable to the quantity so far excavated in Palean villages suggesting that they were a commonplace thing and not just exclusive to Palean people.