Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that Palean baskets are not uniquely Palean, but also created by Lithos people. To bolster the argument, the author points out that the river between Lithos and Palean can only be crossed by boat and no boat has been found so far. However, it is still replete with a myriad of assumptions which could not suffice to back the argument.

To begin, the author unfairly claims that because the Brim River is very deep and broad, ancient residents can only cross it by boat. Here, the author obviously rests on the unwarranted assumption that in the ancient time, the river used to be deep and broad as it is now. However, it is possible that because of global warming, the sea level has risen up recently. The Brim River, thus, also becomes wider and deeper than before. And, maybe in the time when Palean people lived near the river, there was not a river anymore, and even if there was a river, it is highly likely that the river was so shallow and narrow that Palean people could easily went across the river. In short, more information to address the question that whether the Brim River before was as broad and deep as now is needed to corroborate the author’s reasoning.

Furthermore, assuming that indeed the Brim River was very deep and broad before, it does not mean that Palean people can only cross the river by boat. The author assumes that Palean people cannot make use of other ways to cross the river at that time, but the author fails to provides any evidence to support the assumption. Perhaps, Palean people built a bridge by which they could cross the river without boats, or in somewhere not far from their town, the river became very shallow and could be easily crossed. It is also likely that Palean town was in temperate zone where winter was very cold and the Brim River become frozen in winter, and thus, Palean people can cross the river by their own feet. Therefore, in order to fully persuade the readers, the author should provide more detailed information regarding whether Palean people have other ways to cross the Brim River despite boats.

Finally, even if Palean people can only cross the river by boat, no boats being found now does not necessarily mean that Palean people could not access to the opposite bank. The author assumes that all the ancient boats can be reserved well and can be found by nowadays people. However, the assumption is unwarranted. If those ancient boats made by Palean people were made of wood, they can be easily decomposed and cannot be reserved to now. Also, it is possible that there are boats hidden somewhere near the river, but people now have difficulties to find them because of the limits of detectors and excavation machines. Thus, without additional information of the material of the boats and the advancement of detecting machines, it is difficult to access the merit of the statement proposed by the writer.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it relies on several unjustifiable assumptions. If the argument has included the given factors discusses above, it would have been more logically acceptable.