49 Claim We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own Reason Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagr

Students have always looked up to their teachers and mentors as role models when they are under their instruction. Children are often found copying their teacher's and mentor's mannerisms and way of conduct as they see them as better versions of themselves which they aspire to become. Generally, as any two people with similar mindsets get along well, students learn much more from teachers or mentors with whom they share similar ideas. However, the case is different when teachers are fundamentally different from students, student usually feels a level of hostility from such teachers or mentors and cannot learn anything from such educators. The prompt here recommends confirms the same by stating that people are much more likely to learn from people with whom they share their views rather than with people with whom they face a disagreement, the reason being disagreement stresses students and limits learning. Undoubtedly, such a view is justified for the reasons that are detailed below.

To begin with, since finding common ground between people who have radical ideologies is very difficult, no fruitful learning cannot place and as disagreement is only natural to come up during the learning process, a heated argument follows. It is very hard to reconcile with people who we do not share views with because even their general way of conveying ideas and details to us would be almost alien to us. This alien method of things would create confusion and ultimately cause a disagreement between the two. This disagreement would eventually heat up as the two are fundamentally different and would be forced to take sides and ultimately no consensus would be reached in the stressful environment. For instance, we should look no further than TV debates where contestants are not ready to cede even an inch of ground to the other side. Do we see new philosophies or ideologies spring up from such debates? Definitely, No. All that ensues from such a debate is chaos, the chaos that forces you to change the channel or switch off the TV.

Secondly, people usually take a small disagreement on their ego just for the sake of winning the argument and start furnishing lies, and the other side concedes to these lies because they become too stressed from the debate and their thinking faculty diminishes as the argument ensues. If an educator and a student were to be caught up in such a situation where they disagree on a point and the teacher just because of his ego makes use of lies to win the argument. Even though he might win the argument only to be caught later, he would have advertently taught his student wrong facts and concepts which is very detrimental to any learning process. For instance, we have the case of Socrates who later started lying to Niro, one of Socrates' students, when they got into a disagreement. Even though Socrates won the argument and was later caught by Niro. Niro had to suffer because he had accepted the fabrication Socrates had made. He accepted them also because he had become too stressed from the long argument he was having with Socrates.

In conclusion, we can say that learning is a very delicate process, and to foster the best learning environment it is quite important the student and teacher must have a shared ideology so that no argument ensues that could hamper learning.