In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is popularly believed that because of today's intensive media coverage, it is impossible for our society to regard any living person as a hero. Although at the first glance, this idea seems to be reasonable, more careful look at it reveals that a hero is not a saint person but one who make a heroic action in extreme situation, from this viewpoint, mass-media may not always have negative impact on our perception of a hero, moreover, perhaps, today intensive media coverage even helps to create new heroes.

To begin with, it is a cliché that because mass-media has become ubiquitous there is no way to manage to conceal unlawful or malevolent actions. As a result many heroes have become victims of mass-media’s attention, for example, the former president of the United States of America Bill Clinton was threatened of impeachment because of his affair which was inflated by intensive media coverage with Monica Lewinsky. This is not a unique case, scandals and rumors are spread by mass-media world-wide about many famous persons from war-heroes to pop ideals. So, may we say that it is unthinkable to be a hero in today's circumstances?

The answer on the question depends on our understanding of the term hero. It seems that we mix up two distinctive and unequal terms: a saint person and a hero. A hero is a person who manages to act heroically under extreme and dangerous circumstance. Consequently, the past of a hero is not as important as we get used to believe. For instance, a war-hero who served in Iraq may be used to be a gang - member but by serving to his motherland and acting heroically on a battel field one may become a hero despite the dark past.

Furthermore, today's intensive media coverage seems not to prevent but instead multiply heroes. The availability and hegemony of social media such as Twitter, Facebook and You tube as well as mass-media make popular and widely known events which otherwise will be unknown. For example, an American pilot who managed to land an aircraft with passengers on water surface near Ney York has become famous because of mass-media and the internet, his feat was shot by many people and spread by the internet and the pilot has become a world recognize person. Without intense coverage of the event by mass and social media this person will not acquire such fame and recognition.

In conclusion, although many of us tend to think that in contemporary world, it is no longer plausible to regard a living person as a hero, it seems that the mass-media and its ubiquitous coverage is rather help then preclude the creation of new heroes.