All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Among the young, travelling or living in other countries in their college years has become a must. Living and studying in other countries rather than they were born and grow up can provide an inspiration or even a life-long insight. However, whether studying in a foreign country must benefit all students without any exception should be carefully considered for the following reasons.

Firstly, throwing oneself to totally new culture and surroundings may not be beneficial for all people in terms of learning and growing. Students, who are not very social and even become extremely anxious in a new environment, should consider carefully about studying in a foreign country. Of course, challenging experience may provide a chance to grow. However, it may turn out to be not as beneficial or even detrimental. Studying in Canada, I have met many students from a range of countries, and while most of them adjust themselves to the new environment, there were some students who could not cope. They were type of people who learn and perform better when they are in a familiar environment, and studying abroad had actually inhibited their learning ability. This tells us that for students who experience difficulties in adapting in a different culture, food, society, and language, studying in abroad may not be beneficial.

Secondly, studying abroad require enormous energy and effort, from finding a new accommodation, adjusting to a new school system and curriculum, finding their ways in a new community, and establishing social network from scratch. Such demanding procedure may hamper pursuing of a goal, if a student is determined to make an achievement in his or her field. For example, a law major student decides to study in another country, in which run by other legal system, the student would have to compromise his or her career preparation, not only by studying different laws but also missing a chance to do internship in a law firm, which may provide a job offer. Thus, when a student is committed to achieve a clear goal, studying in a foreign country may only hinder the process.

Of course, despite the cases above, some may still argue the benefit of studying in other countries. It is difficult to deny that having an exposition of diverse culture and worldviews is critical, especially when a student expanding his or her learning area. Maybe, those limits discussed above can be balanced off when a student learns about histories and arts of an European country or complex political relations among Asian countries by living there. Still, however, it should be also considered that studying in another country requires huge amount of financial resources, not only the fees but also living costs. In other words, students who are in mid or lower class may not even afford it, and even so, they may rather struggle to maintain their lives instead of learning and experiencing a new culture hanging out with international friends.

In conclusion, while studying abroad may provide benefits to college and university students, it may not be available for all. If a student may not cope with a new environment, pursues a clear goal, or financially capable, studying in another country may result in negative experience, hampering any learning or growth.