All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Children attend school five days of the week for eight hours a day. The prompt suggests that parents be required to devote time to volunteering at their children’s schools. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this statement and argue that implementing such requirements can only be beneficial, although its plausibility is questionable.

Some may argue that requiring parents to volunteer time at their children’s schools is a quixotic recommendation. That is, not all parents are able to commit additional time out of their already hectic schedule. For instance, some single-parents must work long hours in order to support their chdilren and cannot volunteer after work because they must cook dinner and care for their children. In addition, they may not be able to afford hiring a babysitter to look after their children while volunteering. In an ideal world, adopting the recommendation would be advantageous. However, this example illustrates that it is not always possible for parents to agree to such responsibilities, as they may have other commitments that they must tend to.

Nonetheless, if parents are able to commit to volunteering at their children’s schools, their involvement could provide significant assistance to the schools. Some schools may struggle finding teachers willing to volunteer time outside of their work hours. That being said, parent volunteers could alleviate the burden. For example, schools will no longer need to employ strangers to act as supervisors during lunch break. Additionally, schools need not waste money on buses and bus drivers, as parents could act as drivers for field trips. These examples demonstrate that financial benefits for the school if parents were required to volunteer time at their children’s schools.

Lastly, parents’ mandatory involvement in their children’s schools would ensure that parents are always aware of the events and issues occurring within the school. For instance, if parents are required to help organize and supervise a sports event then the greater number of adult presence would ensure the safety of children attending the event. Moreover, parent volunteers will be informed of any suspicious activity or individual’s nearby; thus increasing their vigilance to their surroundings. This example illustrates the benefits of adopting the recommendations for the school and parents, as mandatory parent involvement in the school would help keep the student’s safe.

Indeed, there are many factors that must accounted for when discussing such a complex topic. Before adopting the recommendation, we must consider parents’ commitments and busy schedules outside of school. However, there are many benefits that may come from requiring parent’s to volunteer time. That being said, my opintion remains that implementing such requirements can only be beneficial.