All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

In seeking ways to increase profits and operate more efficiently, firms often hire outside consultants. Although the practice cannot substitute for ongoing dialogue with the employees, it is nevertheless an important tool that may improve the firm's operation significantly.

For one thing, to correctly evaluate the firm's position and detect possible obstacles hindering its success, it is important to have someone objective nearby. After all, the firm's professional affairs are often convoluted with private issues, whims and desires. When your salary or working conditions are at stake, it seems dubious to expect you will be able to present an unconditional, disinterested attitude, and you are not to blame. Hiring outside consultants allows the firm to get a realistic evaluation of its contemporary position, in a way that no employee, smart and decent as he might be, can achieve.

Second, employees do not only tend to be intrinsically subjective, but they also lack the professional expertise to provide the firm with an accurate analysis. Outside consultants, though indubitably varying in their expertise, are trained to detect problems, analyze business schemes and give valuable suggestions regarding the firm's management. As in any field and every issue, obtaining the desired results behooves the company to hire the right people for the job, and professional consultants are just what the firm may need.

Listening to the employees is, for sure, an important practice that has been proved to boost firms' performance in any field. When workers feel the firm cares about them, they are more willing to cooperate and devote their time and efforts to the common good. Satisfied workers cannot, however, take the place of outside consultants, since, as noted, they lack both the objective stance and the nesaccery expertise to make a fair evaluation.

To sum up, listening to the firm's employees and getting professional assistance from outside consultants are both vital to improve its operation. Each of these practices has a distinct, important function: the former strengthens the firm's inner cohesiveness, while the latter provides it with an objective and relevant evaluation. A firm that aspires to excel, should consider applying both practices regularly.