All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A growing and successful business is, usually, characterised by its ability to advertise and launch new products, produce lucrative offers for investers and, future-forward invention. However, there are some businesses that burgeon while depending on other business. Consulting companies are a well known paradigm for such businesses. Many top-tech companies have been known to hire consultants or advisors from such firms, that advises on team organisation, planning and suggests future actions. The prompt suggests that companies need not hire externally for such inputs. If the concerned organisation lends an ear to its employees, consultants can be marked as redundant or futile; inputs from the employees weigh higher than inputs from consultants. I moderately disagree with this stance due to three reasons.

It is very unlikely that an employee, especially in a big organisation with a tortuous team-organisation system, would be aware of the caveats or 'pit-falls' of other teams (which he or she does not belong to). In a well-established profitable firm, one can estimate around 1500 employees in the head office. This is not a flawed estimate as it is close to what is evident in case of companies like Apple, Samsung, DE Shaw, etc. These employees are scattered over many teams (and sub teams) within the organisation. Therefore, it is unlikely that an employee, say from team A, would be aware of the 'lacks' of team B within the company. Additionally, since members within the same team may have disparate experiences (owing to sub team division), they may not be able to advise well on the improvements. That is, a change that one member sees as an improvement (worth considering), can be perceived by the other as insignificant. Therefore, a subset of employees may not be able to suggest (prudently) on how to make operations more efficient. Hence, it is not astute to view employees as consultants due to the parochial nature of their work.

Additionally, consultants, that are hired to suggest changes in a given firm, are expert advisors. They have been hired by many similar organisations and, are aware of the pitfalls of certain decisions. For instance, Netflix wants to hire a consultant for operation efficiency. It is most likely to hire a consultant who has been previously hirted in a company with almost the same level of organisation and domain, say Disney Plus. That way, the consultant woud know, on a broad level, the challenges that a streaming company faces. It is human nature to learn from the mistakes. Consultants may exploit the principle to readily recognise 'holes' in company's operations and suggest changes. Of course, the consultant would have to go through the rigorous, exacting process of understanding the strut of the organisation. Only after this laborious study can the hired consultant suggest changes to the company to operate efficiently. Employees lack such acumen as they spend most of their time in the organisation. They are more engullfed in their own team work, than paying attention to operational nitty gritties.

Although consultants provide a fresh outlook and astute judgements, it does not imply, in any way, that the opinions of the employees should be ignored. An employee, on average, is associated with the company for half a decade or so. Therefore, the responsibility of making sure that the employee is happy, rests on the shoulders of the organisation board. This assertion is made from the surveys that have concluded that one the major factors that dictates productivity of an employee is their satisfaction and happiness in the company. Hence, a good manager should heed to the grievances of his or her employees and, report them forward so they can be managed along with the suggestions imputed by the advisor (consultant).