In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement mentions that in any situation, hearing opposite thoughts will make progress. I agree with the prompt because hearing other's opinions will always make us to think about all outcome possibilities which can be beneficial.

First of all, when people hear about contrasting points, it is definitely going to open their minds to the situation. Thus, they can choose the best options or solutions to continue their goals or to improve the situation. Imagine a student who is under pressure and is studying for GRE exam. He or she just thinks about getting high grades from analytical writing part without paying attention to his/her writing methods. After while she gets frustrated with writing and still not getting good scores in practice exams because she does not pay attention to the time restriction in exam. But when she talks to one of her English professors, she figures it out that it is better to try to write an even non perfect essay in thirty minutes. Then she will be eventually able to write better essays by more practicing.

In addition, when people listen to the opposite views, they can be more experienced and knowledgeable person. Also, they can even improve their personalities. For example, an older boyfriend can advise her girlfriend that buying a very expensive dress is not necessary. Instead, she can buy two dresses by same amount of money or even save her rest of the money. Thus, a girlfriend can make a better decision in that situation.

On the contrary, some people may believe that having discussions about contrasting view is wasting their times which can be true in some cases. For example, it is understandable when a woman does not want to keep the baby whom was created by rape, no contrasting views is going to stop her decision. Obviously, in this situation hearing an opposite view will not make any progress.

Surely people will benefit from hearing opposite views because it can open their minds to become a better decision maker for improvement in any situation.