To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

A country or a region needs an effective leader to thrive. However, what is the criteria for being an effective leader? Does a effective leader need to have the highest moral standards, or does moral standards prevent one from being an effective leader?

Public officials need high moral stcaandards to prevent from corruption. This is especially true for those officials with high position in an government because their behaviors may not be supervised by other officials. If an official can not resist himself from the lure of power and money, he may use the money, which should be used on the people, to fullfill his personal needs. A typical example is a former Taiwan president who was accused of using the government's money to increase his own forture. Because he spent much of his time on think about his own profits, his paid little efforts to the country's affairs, and eventually became the president with the lowest support rate in the country's history.

Another characteristics of people with high moral standards is that their behaviors are in accord with their words, and this characteristics is definitely required for an effective leader. Suppose that the leader announces a new regulation on the usage of air conditioners, saying that air conditioners should only be used at noon. However, he openly disobey the regulation by using the air conditioner all day long. Then it can be imagined that few of his staffs will follow the new regulation because they may think why they should obey the rules when their boss openly flout them.

Yet, high moral standards can sometimes be an impediment to becoming an effective leader. One may focus too much on meeting the ethical standards that they are afraid to do things that really matter. For example, the Philipine president who pledged to eradicate drugs dealers in the country, should be called an effective leader because his policies indeed reduce the drug usage in the country even though his policies are not considered moral. If the president cares too much about moral issues, he may not have the ability to implement such an effective solution to cure the nation's drug overuse problem.

Moral standards are important to an effective leader because they can prevent the leader from corruption and make his staffs follow his orders. Yet, they should not focus too much on morals that they forget to do things that really bring benefits the nation.