In today’s work environment, most goals are inherently competitive. Upon entering the workforce, our future leaders will face opposition ranging from rival companies vying for a share of the market to other professionals striving for the same position within a company. However, to prepare young people for success, I believe that we as a society should aim to instill a sense of cooperation. With strong teamwork and communication skills, individual and group success will come naturally.

While it is important for future leaders to be experts in their respective fields, it is unreasonable to expect omniscience. Therefore, to tackle the multifaceted challenges they will face, it is important to instill a sense of cooperation in our youth to enable work with professionals in other fields. In today’s work environment, it is not uncommon to have a team of professionals from fields ranging from computer science and electrical engineering to marketing and the arts collaborating to bring a new electronic device to market. Their success in a ruthlessly competitive marketplace hinges on each member’s ability to collaborate and optimize the end result.

Even when working with other professionals in one’s own field, it is vitally important to maintain open communication while striving for a common goal. Lack of communication between ranks can cause catastrophic results. For example, a Lockheed Martin Satellite launch failed dramatically after a young engineer noticed a potentially damaged component during final preparations but did not tell his superiors because he feared embarrassing them and hurting his professional career. To succeed as a team, our future leaders must be able to have honest conversations and maintain an open work environment where all are empowered to vocalize ideas and concerns and have their opinions valued.

Finally, it is vital for success in the workplace to be open about failures and weaknesses to enable success as a team. In a competitive environment, professionals might often wish to hide their shortcomings or failures in order to maintain a façade of invincibility. However, to be effective as a team, it is important for each member to acknowledge weaknesses and be comfortable asking for and offering help. Similarly, team members should be comfortable owning mistakes so they can be fixed early. One bug in an application can be potentially catastrophic if a team member tries to correct it rather than acknowledging a mistake and asking for help, so it is important to emphasize collaboration over competition.

While future leaders must be prepared to face stiff competition in the workforce, I believe the best way to do is to instill a spirit of cooperation. Their abilities to perform tasks in an interdisciplinary team, to communicate effectively with peers and superiors and overcome their weaknesses will set them apart and enable them to succeed as individuals and as believers in a common goal.