Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

"The end justifies the means"- is a widely known but controversial saying. The claim and the reasoning of the prompt seems to be aptly summarized by the aforementioned saying. From a moralistic point of view, I can not completely agree with such a claim and the reason on which this claim is based.

The claim attempts to justify the moral uprightness of an action simply based on its consequences or results. It also abstractly refers to the amount of good and bad that results from an action. Every action has certain consequences of different scale and proportion. The consequences or the results of an action can sometimes be predicted and sometimes they are simply unpredictable and random. For example, the outcome of rolling a die is completely random and can not be accurately predicted. As such, how can we predict or justify the moral correctness of an action which has random and unpredictable consequences? If we take all of our actions simply based on the final result then the consequences are sometimes devastating, as can be observed from the life of Adolph Hitler. Adolph Hitler, a German military general, thought that world peace can be achieved simply by eradicating the Jewish population. He killed almost 6 million Jews. This action was justified by Hitler based on its final outcome which he presumed to be world peace.

Moreover, who should have the right to determine the good and the bad that results from an action? An outcome that is favorable to one person might be quite the opposite for another. For example, construction of a factory for an automation industry near a forest might be a huge benefiting factor in the economic growth of a country but it may also be quite harmful for the wildlife and the residents around that forest whose livelihood depends upon the forest resources. Hence, the construction can not simply be justified based on its outcome. There is no gold standard or universal scale through which we can measure the amount of good or bad that results from an action.

The reason provided for the claim posits that the intention of the person performing an action is not as important as the results of that action. This is a very dubious and unjustifiable reasoning in my opinion. If a person intends to trip another person and injure them by placing a banana skin on the floor but the other person fortunately avoids this trap, can this action be justified? The answer is a big fat no.

In the light of the above discussion, we can conclude that the end does not always justify the means.