Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.Write a res

The claim given here states that an argument is said to be best if it portrays convincing answer to the questions raised against it. I strongly agree with the claim as well as the reason provided by an author. In my view, an argument is what, which is based on some empirical facts and cannot be reproached by others with the corroborating statement.

The first reason for my belief is that the best argument is like a scientific theory which can be verified with logical reasoning. In fact, the conception of each and every theory is made by an argument. For example, if Sir Issac Newton didn't argue about falling mechanism of an apple down from the tree, the theory of gravitation would not be bourgeoned in the scientific community. First, he argued with himself, and he satiated himself with searching a logical reason, then after he modified his argument to make convince all curious fellow of his time. This example clearly illustrates that how a convincing argument can be a scientific theory.

The second reason for my belief is that an argument without best reason is like a wishful thinking of an arguer rather than a substantive statement. For instance, the president of the United States claimed that all the immigrant here in his country are the useless fellow of their own country, they should have to send back to their respective territory. But, the opponent gainsaid his claim by stating that the highest proportion of the high paid job positions are occupied by the immigrants.

Moreover, the alacrity of an argument is based on a satisfactory answer of skeptical questions raised by the erudite commentator. One without a convincing answer is like a hunch. We should have to aware that we cannot take satisfactory answer in every argument. Some argument is based on some ritual values where no one can get to the point answer to all questions.

In sum, the ability to convince to opposing viewpoints make an argument best. The opposing views, actually reveal the real value of the idea presented on the argument.