Claim Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students Reason College students like people prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions

Selecting courses for pursuing a degree in higher education is a very daunting task. Students entering college usually are required to take an array of courses that are related to their own field of study and take up a few courses from other fields of study as electives to meet credit requirements. Deciding on which electives to take for completing degree credit requiremnts is a very tough task and students usually vaccillate on various electives before finalsing a few. The prompt here asserts that colleges and universities should instead of offering electives, provide a clear curiculum of the required courses that would suffice for completing degree requirements as students are more comfortable with clear guidelines rather than spending time on making their own decisions. Undoubtedly, the prompt is jusitified in its assertion for the reasons that are as detailed below.

To begin with, making decisions is a very daunting task as one is often required to carefully deliberate over pro's and con's of an issue beofre arriving on any conclusion. Naturally, students like people don't want to invest the time and effort in doing so. This makes more inclined to take up clear guidance if provided by another person. For instance, several students entering college usually go to admission counsellors to finalise their plan of study. These admission counsellor's make a note of the learning outcome's these students want from pursuing their degrees and suggest a plan of study that would most likely help achieve it. Students usually accept this plan of study without any second thought. Not only students even adults seek help and advice from various consulatnts and experts to finalise their decision. This example clearly illustrates the inclination of students like other people to steer away from making their own decisions and stick to taking clear guidance from a seasoned expert. Hence, If colleges and universities were to provide freshmen with pre-curated courses for a field of study they would readily take it as opposed to spending time determining which courses they should pursue .

Secondly, people usually take guidance from people who are well versed in their fields. Hence, they are less likely to question the soundness of their advice and worry less about the implications of the advice they take up. On the other hand side, when people take their own decision they are constantly worried about the soundness of their decision: would it help them achieve their objectives or end up wating their time. College students like other people have already taken a few decisions in their life and faced the bad concequences of those decisions that did not coe out well. This fear of failure further adds to their worry and makes them more inclined to take up counsel from someone who has signiificant experience in the field. For instance, most amateur investors after burning their hands in the stock market finally seek help from personal wealth managers to recover their loses as they are unsure that they themselves might be able to do it or not. This example clearly illustrates the inability of people to take up their decisions once they have their hands burned. It is the worry that eats up the ability to decide of any person once he has failed in a previous endeavor. Thus, if offered clear guidance regardding which courses they should take up, students would take it up rather than spend rest of their degrees worrying about the electives they have taken up and whether they would contribute to their careers or not.

In conclusion, it can be said that colleges and universities should prescribe required courses and do away with electives for students. As students would be more inclined to take up the recommendation of their university as it would save them from the taxing effort and the worrying about the usefullness of their selected electives towards their careers.