Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In asserting that governments must dedicate enough financial support to their major cities, in order to survive, the author failed to acknowledge other diverse issues – the paramount importance of small cities and the role they can play in a government’s tradition and history advertisement – besides allotting money to major cities. Nevertheless, I agree with the statement to the extent that the mentioned government is “only” allotting money for financial prosperity. In other cases, as will be elucidated in the points below, it will not be so.

Due to ambiguous nature of the phrase “thrive”, I will assume it means financial prosperity. Admittedly, when a government’s budget goes to its major cities, the companies and people will have more money, in hand. As a result, more jobs are provided and therefore the productivity develops in the country. Take for instance Japan, Nowadays, japan has few major cities and the rest are village people. Allotting enough time and financial support to its major cities, the government is now a pioneer leader in the car industry and electronics. Not to mention their export rate and job market. Consequently, it can be seen that giving enough credit to major cities, financially, by governments can assure a society’ prosperity.

In addition, in order for a community to thrive, the community needs to advertise its culture by means of tourism. If so, the society will have more money in hand, and more money means proliferation. An example can shed light on this issue. In Shiraz, Iran, ‘Takhte Jamshid’ is one of the things that Persians are fond of. Supporting financially to conserve this thousands-of-year-old ancient metropolis, Persian government has ensured the profound tourism attraction in this city. As a result, a government’s future thriving can be assured by supporting financially its major cities’ tourism industry.

With these examples, it could be argued that governments can only thrive with financially supporting their major cities, but when viewed holistically, it is not because the tradition and the history of a government are lied beneath small cities and villages. Last year, I went to Shaft, Iran, north of Guilan to take some photos. What I saw was an eye opening landmark with rich history and tradition. However, due to lack of budget, the road to Shaft was only half way, I had to take a long walk to reach the landmark “Imamzade Hashem”. As a result, if the Iranian government had provided enough financial support for the small villages and cities alike, they would have been able to thrive with respect to the fact that tradition and history of a society are only found in its small cities.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement only to the extent that governments are concerned with the financial thriving and development. In other cases, as mentioned above, the situation is far different.