Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.Write a response in which you discuss the e

How government distribute their financial support to the people has always been a major issue to consider, while I believe that governments should ensure that their major cities have the financial support they need, I disagree that one nation’s cultural traditions are primarily preserved and generated in cities. Although major cities do contribute to generating new culture and trends, I believe it is the rural area that serves the role of preserving culture and traditions.

Most of the major cities have some common characteristics that make them suitable for generating new culture. Major cities usually possess an abundance of resource, provide an innovative environment, and encourage competition. Such characteristics helps people in major cities to generate more income, create more mind-blowing ideas, and better identify the monetary value of things when compared to people in the rural area. The pressure of innovation makes city dwellers adept in creating new cultures, cultures that are often fast paced and keen on money-making ideas.

Although it is true that major cities may create some of the more influencing trends such as the popular culture, and may help preserve a few valuable traditions of a society, I believe it is wrong to ascribe the preserving of a nation’s cultural traditions primarily to cities. The culture generated in the fast paced, ever changing community is more like a trend rather than a long lasting tradition. What you see popular in the cities nowadays may soon become obsolete in the upcoming years. To preserve the existing tradition and generate long-lasting cultures, I believe the key is in sustaining the rural area’s vitality.

Rural area and major cities are in some way fundamentally different, but they are equally important in the development of cultures and traditions of a nation. The slow paced, slow changing style of the rural area makes it perfect for preserving traditions. The rural area is also good at filtering out unnecessary trends we often see in the cities, thus only keeping the ones that are able to last. When the nation’s rural area is well developed, it serves as a strong base in which the traditions are maintained, new culture can be formed without having to worry that the old lessons are forgotten. A well maintained rural area can even act as a shelter when the city dwellers feel lost in the fast changing environment. In a world that is changing faster than ever, I believe rural areas are more important than major cities concerning the preservance and generation of a nation’s cultural tradition.

Major cities should receive sufficient financial support from the government in order to prosper, and it is no doubt that governments who would like their nation to thrive must put considerable effort to make sure their major cities has enough resources to develop. The government, however, should not ignore the importance of maintaining a well-developed rural area, for the rural area can serve as a base where new cultures are created, and a refuge when the city dwellers find themselves lost in the fast paced world.