Claim Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system Reason Laws cannot change what is in people s hearts or minds Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason

The above statement claim that problems of modern society would not completely solve by introducing laws and legal system because laws fails to change the mind of people and whatever they believe. I mostly disagree with the claim and provided reason and I will explain my reasons.

First of all, democracy and parliament system is a valuable contribution of humankind in recent centuries. This governing system is designed to be adopted by the changing needs of the society. There are lots of rules that are abandoned these days due to changing the situations and changing the needs of the society. For instance, there was an alcohol prohibition in the United States before second war but when the parliament understood that this prohibition could lead to crime, they decide to cancel this law. Thus, the legal system could be plastic for different needs in different era.

Moreover, parliament system is flexible to every scope of everyday life so they could adapt the laws of the country with modern problems. For instance, after conducting some crime in social media in Iran, the government decides to introduce laws in related to them. Then, any people that do crime in this area would be arrested by police and the court would decide about his or her crime. Therefore, legal system could adjust itself with continues changing problems in the modern society.

The reason maintains that law could not change the mind and heart beliefs of people. I could not accept this idea. I believe in long term laws and parallelly cultural activities could change the beliefs of a society. For instance, before introducing the freedom of black people in the United States, it had not been acceptable for a lot of people that blacks have the same right as others. This law ensures that black people could live freely in the country and any people that try to limit their freedom would be punished by laws and legal system. After long period, these days blacks’ rights are acceptable for most of people in the United States.

In conclusion, I could not agree with the claim and the reason because I believe parliament and legal system are flexible to adjust the rules according to the needs of the society. In addition, by introducing laws and cultural activities changing minds of people would be possible.