College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I don't completely agree with the claim. Rather, I think that most students should study in the departments that are more likely to lead to jobs while some talented ones who know what they want to pursue can work on what they're interested in.

Most college students don't know what they are really interested in. For example, in Taiwan, high school students mainly focus on getting a higher grade in order to enroll in a better universities and barely think about what they really want. As a result, they often choose what they're good at instead of what they're interested in, making them struggle in colleges because they don't know what's the purpose of study that subject. Therefore, choosing a subject that lead to jobs can somehow motivate them to study since they know that if they work hard enough, they are more probably to get a good job and can maybe make more money.

Also, not every one has such a big dream as saving the world or becoming an expert. Many people just want to make their family live a better life. Therefore, studying a subject that is easier to find a job after graduation is a reasonable choice for those students. For example, many Taiwanese students just want to have a job that is not easy for them to be fired. Thus, they study electrical engineering, which has numerous job offers related to, and have great lives after graduation.

Although most students should pursue those professions that more likely to lead to jobs, there are a minority of students that exactly know what they want, and thus should go study what they are interested in for the sake of becoming an expert in that domain. For example, Po-Chun Hsu was able to get into the electrical engineering department at National Taiwan University, which was and is still the top choice for Taiwanese students, but choose to study in the department of materials science, which was a lesser known profession at that time. Although many people were confused about his choice and thought that he made a wrong decision, he just followed his heart and learned what he was really interested in. Now, he becomes a professor at Duke University and has a enviable life.

I think that majority of the students should pursue subjects that easier to find jobs while those who already know what they want to do in the future should work on where their interests are.