College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

As one of the inspirational writers Shannon Alder put it: One of the greatest regrets in life is being what others would want you to be, rather than being yourself. As this well said iteration underlines, in order not to have remorses, people should live the way they wish to live. In this sense, I mostly disagree with the statement for two reasons, while I also believe that if students want to follow the subjects that will lead to a job, it is their wish to do so.

Firstly, what leads to a happy and fruitful life does not require having a well paid job. Students must be given the chance to live the life they dream about. Even if they cannot rich enough, at least they will not be regretful, a feeling that haunts people until the day they die. Feeling remorse is one of the most detrimental and exhaustive emotions for people. For example one of the most famous Turkish poems called “Mona Roza” was written by an old poet who hid his love within himself more than 50 years and came up with this love poem despite his marriage and his children. It was such a burden that he needed to pour his heart out to relieve. It is unimaginable how daunting, exhaustive and wearing life was for this poet. It was all because of one word he was hesitant to do. And future grownups should not have such kind of remorses if they are aiming to have a good life.

Secondly, in order for human beings to prosper, people need to explore their boundaries and expand their horizons. In this vein, the more they are limited, the less they become. It is their lives and what matters should be the targets they are aiming for. Time does not stop and humans evolve to better harmonize with their surroundings. No-one can predict how our lives are going to be in twenty years. Maybe most favorable professions will be obsolete, and people will ever need it again. For instance, being a postman in my country was a very prestigious job forty years ago, because the only way to communicate was by posting letters and postman was the long awaited savior for the people. They used to offer him desserts, cups of coffee, and even a sleeping couch if they needed to sleep. But now we do not even a mailman in the streets thanks to technology. The only medium people need is just a screen to communicate. Time changes, people change, jobs change. People are not prescient and they cannot foresee everything. Hence, students should pick the way they prefer. This way, they will also shape the future of our world not only theirs.

On the other hand, realities of the era, which are shaping us and our environs, should also be taken into consideration when commenting on education system and youth. It is a fact that, the time people are living in now, requires a certain level of monetary freedom to be able to live a decent life, that is, people are as happy as they are paid in this contemporary world. As an illustration, many students can’t even continue their education without monetary aids, scholarships or loans. It would not be fare to tell them to pursue their dreams and leave their schools for another one while there is already so much burden on their shoulders. In this sense, college students have all the rights to take courses that they think will be financially beneficial to them for their future plans.

All in all, since the primary source of happiness in this world is not only about the income level of people, they should be given the chance to pursue their own desires and dreams, especially when they are young and ambitious. Thus, a more self fulfilled and satisfied society will be achieved. In this vein, college students should not be confined to daily reckonings and be given the opportunity to be the people they wish to be.