Employees form the core of the company. Having effective employees results in increased productivity of the company. However, there will always be a few egregious individuals who want to harm the company or pursue their own self interests. These individual can causes significant damages to the company and can be precluded by routinely monitoring employee mails. Although it is important to give an employee some degree of privacy, it is much more important to safeguard their jobs; which they might lose due to the damages incurred by the company.

For any company, big or small, leaks are a major problem. This could cause major damages to the company or even could lead to the company being closed down. For example, many tech companies make products every year which are kept secret until the release; this is done so that the products generate more buzz when it is launched, which leads to greater sales. However, many products get leaked, thus making people aware of the products leading to less attraction of the product at launch. For companies whose income revolves around secret ideas or recipes, leaks are even more dangerous as it cause it to close down. For instance, KFC would close down if their chicken recipe was revealed. Therefore, by routinely checking mails, leaks could be precluded.

Routinely checking e-mail correspondences of employees leads to better functioning of the company. The employees, being aware that they are being monitored, will try to perform work as efficiently as possible. This might however, lead to the morale of the employees decline. Instead, employees should be made aware that mail correspondence is a part of the job and should be checked.

While employees require a degree of privacy, it is important to keep a check on their mail correspondence to ensure no significant damage to the company in done.