Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In dev

When we talk about studying,especially in China, we often heard that if you got a high score in Math, Physics and Chemistry, you will not only be matriculated by a good Higher Education Institution, but also a promise future in the work, which prove you are clever at some extent. As my concern, I must admit that this iusse is availabe in Chinese educational system which full of competetions. High grades ,however, do not mean everything on behalf of learning quality sometimes.Here I will address my view in three points.

To begin with, there are some situations which require high grades, just like now, I am sitting here to take the GRE test. A high score will convincingly prove one's ablity in this test. The students in lower education instituions likewise, are required to learn the basic knowledge well. For example, when we are in the middle school, the exam is the best criterion for us to evaluate our quality of learning. As most of the courses we are learining is from the established knowledge basement.So the competetion for high grades will benefit the students to learn the courses well.

With the basic knowlegement, one can chase for further and deeper courses if he entered the high education institution like Universities. While in the universities,especially for graduates, they maybe on the edge of the field which they study.So it would be unnecessary for them to compete with each other for a high score. The more important mission for them is to study and research the area of their discipline. Thus, the competetion for high grades, on the contrary , maybe harmful to them in that ,it will confine their creativeness which replaced by competetion in the GPA.

The creativeness is essential for us, not only in the scientific research but also in art and literature.This is what I want to emphasize in the last but equally significant because this is the power for human to evovle in all area. Besides the inventor Edison who invented thousands of usefull invetions, as far as my concern, I belive Van Gogh did not win the other sutdents in art when he was alive. If the students in higher level was required to get a high score, their creativeness will be limited.

In conclusion, we should admit the benevolence of competetion for high grades, becasuse this is a good method to sift more excellent ones from all students. But this is not the only way to learn the knowledge well. Given the latent limitation for creativeness of students in higher levels, I think there is no neccesary of competetions when these students entered professional area because their abilty has been proved on the way to this field.