Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views can be useful and not detrimental as stated in the question. As a human being we socialise very frequently which helps us come across different people with myriad and prolific of idea and beliefs. Talking between two people has perennially been an exchange of ideas and experiences and their core beliefs.

I would love to know another persons view point, then assess it through my consciousence and then approve or neglect the idea. To not talk to a person who has different belief just because they will not change is a very stupid idea and you are just limiting yourself from a flurry of ideas present in this world. We should talk about controversial ideas which will help us to understand each other better and understand thier stream of thoughts. Maybe after the converstaion you could get view points against the very idea you were canvassing since the beginning or you could get more points to support your cause. There could also be some points which could make you were not sure of before but now are confident. The results are infinite yet positive.

Being reticent and recalcitrant with the idea of not discussing views could hinder your intellectual knowledge. People attend conferences, ralleys and meetings for the sake of knowledge and new thought process. Many people are not very obstinate who do aree to change their view points if the exogenesis of the terms are done in a pellucid manner. Whoever, after being proved wrong still bolsters their view point is just a vain person.

People often tend to take their stance in politics whether the government is doing the correct things or not. Moreover many people bash, oroutright condemn thier activities while some see everything as the good work. These two outliers are the irony of discussion. Only if they could talk and have a meaningful exchange of thoughts about their viewpoints supported with versatile examples instead of pouring their ideas right into each others throat, the world would have been a better place.

I truly believe discussion is of utmost importance since it fosters bonding. Knowing another persons basis of though process gives you ideas about how they perceive the world. This is truly one of the most important things in life to understand the other persons perspective. You dont need to agree or disagree but appreciate the human brain and how it sees the world in a different way. Although core beliefs form over time since you need a logic and reason to build a monolithic idea, which could be broken down easily when a wisdom of right ideas flourishes inside this building of thoughts and ramshackles it to bricks and mortar (misunderstandings).

Therefore discussion of topics on controversial topics should not be proscribed on the pretext of how useful it will be. Instead it should form the very basis of ideas exchanging and give rise to clear thought process which is free of malaign and corruption. The mind is like a clay it should be moulded to the right shape to give the best perspective of life.