Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The question if educational institutions should intervene while students decide their future careers is an intricate one. Some believe colleges and universities should discourage students from choosing intended professions in which they are unlikely to succeed. However, educational institutions should not dissuade students from pursuing certain fields of study in which they think they are unlikely to succeed because it cannot be guaranteed that they will be unsuccessful and the students may tend to find interest in fields that others think they will be unlikely to succeed in.

First, just because one assumes a student will be unable to succeed in a specific field does not mean they will not succeed. There are existing fields of study in which an individual must go outside of what they learn in their academic textbooks and gain experience elsewhere to be a competent worker. For example, a medical student who averages C’s on all of his tests does not indicate that he will be an incompetent physician. He has time to gain experience working as a doctor or in a related field before he starts working as a doctor to enhance his skills and strengthen his foundation. This student must use what he has learned in school, but he must also utilize knowledge that he has obtained from experience. Even though he is averaging C’s in his courses, this does not indicate his experiences will not compensate and he will not learn through those experiences. Working in one’s field of study allows to build experiences that one can learn from and add to their success. So, to be successful in one’s career, they must encompass what they have learned in their books but must incorporate their experiences to led them to success.

Furthermore, if an individual is not interested in a particular field of study, they might not be willing to pursue it. Take into consideration the same medical student. If his teachers in his undergraduate study advised him not to pursue medicine and instead think about a profession in music because his music grades included high honors grades, he might be unwilling to reconsider his decision. He might not be interested in the music field and if he decided to go forward with a musical career just because he had good grades in those classes, it could lead him to perform less efficiently in his career and he could end up with lower self-satisfaction. Because he does not enjoy what he does, he will put less effort into his tasks which could make him feel like he isn’t reaching his set goals. Whereas if he went through with medical school, he would be part of a profession that he enjoys and can fulfill his satisfaction. Thereby, students should be able to pick what fields of study they would like to go into.

Finally, some may argue that one’s grades in their classes is an indicator of how well they will do in future related professions. For instance, if this pre-medical undergraduate was averaging D’s and F’s on all of his coursework, he might not be understanding the material at the level a medical school would like him to. Misunderstanding of information can lead to malpractice or carelessness in the future. Although this may be true, this is an extreme profession choice in which educational institutions needs to be demanding from their students prior to granting them admission. However, there are less extreme cases that exist. In these, students will be able to be successful as they build more experience like a real estate agent.

Though believing educational institutions should discourage students from certain fields has various valid points, these claims do not outweigh the opposing side. Educational institutions should not dissuade students from fields of study that interest them because they cannot predict success or interest.