Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is indeed a broad concept; it includes not only conveying academic knowledge but also developing various aspects of students including their future career. In this regard, and from the preconception that students are not fully-fledged to make a reasonable decision, some people argue that education institutions should hamper students from persuing careers that is seemingly not suitable to their bent. However, I adamantly believe that educational institutions have no responsibility to deter students from persuing fields they are not likely to succeed in.

Granted, it is true that students are not fully-fledged to objectively assess themselves, and thus there are some occasions where students revert to the career path suggested by their teachers after realizing ther limitations. For example, in case of dealing with Edward Witten, one of the most prominent luminary in the theoretical physics field, he first started his career as a lawyer. However, he later realized his limitation as a lawyer, and reverted back to the academica, the field that was suggested by his parents and teachers. Now, as mentioned above, he is now considered to be one of the greatest living physicsts in the entire world. As this compelling example shows, there are some occasions where students fail after pursusing fields of study in which their teachers deemed not likely to succeed.

Regardless of the previous case, however, it should be noted that changes in modern society are not predictable even for educational institutions. To elaborate, the vicissitude of industries are hard to be forecasted because of the inexorable advances in the current society enabled by technological advances. Take AI generated images and its impact on art industry as an example. Before the advent of the AI that generates images that cannot be differentiated from those by human expers, the most important virtue for painters, especially for those in the industries, was to simply draw well. However, the situation has dramatically changed due to the machine-learning assisted AI image generator. The image generating AI produces high quality paintings that is not discernable from human-generated paintings, which enabled some pieces to receive prominent art rewards. This changed the required virtue for painters from dawing well to configuring well; the ability to provide more suitable explanation that leads AI to produce the desired output became also an important virtue for painters.

In addition, it should be noted that there are many cases where students develop their talent long after they enter the field. Take Feeman Dyson as an example. Although he is now considered one of the most influential quantum physicsts, he was first dissuaded by his advisor, which resulted in the conflict between him and his advisor and his not receiving PhD. However, he later developed his talent as a physicst and engended a series of novel theoretical concepts that enabled the new field of physics, which is quantum field theory. In addition to this obvious examples, there are other prominent figures who developed their talents long after they enter the field. Therefore, even if a student is not seemingly talented in a specific field for now, it does not mean that he will not succeed in that field in the long run.

In brief, I believe that educational institutions should not discourage students from pursuing the field which students are not likely to succeed in, for even educational institutions cannot forecast the required virtue for a specific job and students can develop their talent in the long run.