Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and suppo

Throughout the world, education has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although many people believe educational institutions play a vital role in students’ future careers, the issue as to whether those institutions are responsible to prevent students from following majors in which they are not likely to perform well remains controversial. To the best of my knowledge, educational academies and especially teachers should motivate students to discover their potentials and pursue what they do best.

Oprah Winfrey has been ranked the greatest black philanthropist in American history with the synonymous The Oprah Winfrey Show. From her humble beginnings in rural Mississippi, Oprah Winfrey has established herself as one of the most important figures in popular culture. One of the defining moments of her life came in fourth grade when she was a student of the teacher who positively influenced her, Mrs. Duncan. She helped Oprah Winfrey to not be afraid of being smart, encouraged her to read, gave her advice to choose books and let Oprah assist her grade papers; this led to the goal of Oprah was becoming a fourth grade teacher. Eventually, Oprah Winfrey is not only a talk show host but also an influencer, it all started from an inspiring teacher.

Bill Gates is best known as co-founder of Microsoft Corporation and a philanthropist. The chairman of Microsoft Corp had a huge influence from “a very kindly librarian and teacher” Blanche Caffiere. She played an important role in Bill Gates’ life, stirred up passion for learning in him when he was a shy boy and did not like to go to school. Ms. Caffiere took him under her wings and helped make it okay for him to be a messy, nerdy boy who was reading many books; she shared her love of books with Bill Gates and then assisted him to choose books. The time with Ms. Caffiere sparked his interest in libraries and his focus on helping children in America get the benefits of the great teacher.

Steve Jobs is another famous person who was a co-founder of Apple and revolutionized technology. As a child, Jobs was apparently indifferent to school for long periods until he met his fourth grade teacher, Imogene Teddy Hill. She helped him developed focus towards learning by bribing him with candy and it did not take long for Jobs to get interested in learning after that. In the following years, Steve Jobs got increasingly curious about the world of electronics and from there started his journey building Apple.

In conclusion, it is true that educational institutions impact on students’ careers but they should encourage them to follow their potential and passion. The living examples of Oprah Winfrey, Bill Gates and Steve Jobs bear this out. The positive influence of their teachers stand them in good stead.