Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing

fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the present world, education is one of the most imperative factors behind the better future of our society. Thus educational institutes have a responsibility to pave the way for the success of their students by guiding them in the proper field of study suitable for them. The above prompt sets out that educational institutes should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. While I concede that education institutes should asses their judgment of students based on the path their students want to take but in my opinion, I mostly disagree with the fact that educational institutes should discourage their students from pursuing their field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed for three reasons.

To begin with, some students may not show talent now but may succeed in the future. Sometimes great people do not show their talents when there young but later they show their talent that no one could ever imagine. For example, Albert Einstein when he was young was not good at school workings but after his uncle introduced him to math he find his interest in math and later invent many groundbreaking innovations which led to his winning of Nobel Prize that no one at his time had thought of. The above example shows that a student might not be good at some topic when he is young but after a lot of hard work, he might find his subject of interest and become successful. Thus institutes should not preclude a student from pursuing his field of interest, one can not say that the student might become a connoisseur of the subject in near future.

Furthermore, a school is where one goes for learning the skills that his\her family might not have the means or resources to do so. For example, most of the school students from Indian villages have to go to an internet cafe to do their typewritten homework because they do not have a computer in their house. The family cannot teach them about using a computer, browsing the internet, and editing on Microsoft Office programs, but the school, upon giving this homework, has done so and expects you to use these skills in the future. By this example, we can say that educational institutes like schools pave a wider path of success for a student and help them to widen the road to success.

However, sometimes student’s preferable field of study has some other components in which he is not good enough then institutes should inhibit him to pursue the field of study. Let’s take an example that a student's choice of topic is Bio Math while he is good in mathematics but he does not have any knowledge about Biology. Then in the future, he will be at a disadvantage if he chooses bio-math. Moreover, sometimes student chooses physics since he has an interest in physics without knowing anything about advanced math which is necessary to do advanced physics. The above example illustrates that sometimes the institute should preclude him from pursuing his preferable field of study since without a full understanding of the bigger picture the student may not succeed in near the future.

But it will be wrong to say that institutions should persuade students to pursue only success-assured fields as the possibility of getting success depends on a large number of factors and one cannot forecast them. The best possible encouragement a student must be given is to do whatever they like and habitually develop advancement in that field.