Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The topic given is controversial and deals with whether educational institutes should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed or not. Indisputably, the success of the students should be the prime concern for any educational organizations. Nevertheless, the extreme statements of the author to completely dissuade students from their selected majors which the institutions have deemed to be unlikely for their success is not recommended. Thus, it is not surprising to disagree with the author.

First of all, the elucidation of success is ambiguous. Every individual has their own definition of success and pave their way accordingly. Some might consider obtaining lucrative jobs as success while others believe that settling down with family and friends to be success. It is impossible for institutions to take into account all the individual meanings of success to students and it leads them to construct their own characteristics and a system to root out anything that does not contribute to this characteristics. To illustrate, assume a school that believes artful occupations like dancer, musician, painter and so on to be the opposite of success and thoroughly discourages students from participating in these activities. This could potentially wipe out any creativity in children and consequently the next generation. To contradict, assume the same school modified to believe that obtaining high paying jobs to be successful, then every single person would be competing towards these positions and jobs like janitors, teachers, garbage men, waiters, baristas and so on would be vacant or not employed rendering the society with no services.

Additionally, creativity blooms with experience. Experience peaks while encountered with the unexpected or doing things that are not the norm for an individual. Trying new things and experimenting with their surroundings is a faster way to determine the likes and dislikes of the person and shapes everyone differently. But, when the educational system forces every child to follow the same dream or pursue the life style they have deemed to be worthy of their students, it strips these children of their qualities that sets them apart from each other and makes all of them similar and bland. It is much like training every kid to be a obedient robots which all have the same fate to follow.

Furthermore, the freedom of choice is eradicated from the students life in this innovation of educational institutes. Without the freedom to choose or escape the system entrenched with the notion of success of their students rather than their well being or mental happiness, the students may as well be the slaves these educational institutes. Adding to this, the author's claim has portrayed failure to be the woe of humanity but it is just an equal part of life like success. "Failure is a stepping stone to success" is a quote that promotes the mistakes committed as experiences and indeed people learn more from their failures than success. Thomas Elva Edison failed 1000 times before achieving his aim to invent an electric bulb and he proudly stated afterwards that he has discovered 1000 different ways to fail in the invention of the electric bulbs. It is the reason why every student is encouraged to redo their exams after they score low in order to understand where they went wrong. Therefore, the freedom to failure and choose their future helps the students in the long run and leaves them no regrets in life. Embracing the failure encountered in life is the main factor that contributes towards one's success.

Educational system is a complex entity that strives towards betterment of students with many innovation. But the particular one introduces by the author has more drawbacks than advantages. Unless, modifications are administered or additional statements are added to the claim made by the author, it is impossible to their statements seriously. In fact, implementing this system is a dishonor to the choices made by the students and the mistakes that build up to their success.