Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In all educational systems, one of the most controversial matters is the criteria that teachers should based their assessments on them . One aspect of this controversy is that somebody believe “Educators should evaluate students’ learning not on their takings of a fact but on their ability to explain the pertaining ideas and concepts that the fact is involved”. In my perspective, there is a narrow gap between these two concept, and a compromise position should be made.

It is admitted that facts are the cornerstone of each field of science and understanding the origins of a concept play a significant role in exploring related consequence and subjects of that fact. But, it should be considered that the main goal of abstract facts is to explain and justify the scientific phenomena that exist in that realm of science.Thus, if a student is capable of understanding such concepts and phenomena, it could be said that they reach the proper level to use such facts, practically. Further, If an student has learnt a fact, perfectly, but he/she could not extent the acquired knowledge to the consequential patterns and concepts, somehow his/her knowledge is useless. The value of facts is to be used in order to extract concepts that are helpful to progress human life. As a consequence, The students’ ability to explain related idea and trends of a fact could be a justifiable criterion in order to measure students learning.

On the other hand, students have different patterns of learning and an individual’s brain concentrates on various aspects of subjects that are taught, due to peoples’ different mental features and activity. It is possible that somebody is more successful in grasping abstract facts and others are more capable in explain relative trends and ideas.Both of them has their own merits and drawbacks. Thus, only considering one aspect in students assessments could not be fair and fails to a correct evaluation of their learning.

As what is mentioned above, I think that the healthiest way that ensure an accurate measurements of students educational operation is to enter both understanding of facts and explaining of idea and trends in evaluation process.