The effectiveness of a country's leaders cannot be examined exhaustively only by assessing the well-being of citizens. There are several circumstances that a country has to face and it is not possible for a leader to consider only the well-being of its citizen always. Leaders might have to make decisions that affect the population in negative ways but as a whole are good for the growth of the country.

To begin with, there is always a trade-off between the economic growth and the preservation of nature. Take an example of a country where people long for jobs and consistent availability of bread and butter is precarious, denying the construction of new paper manufacturing factory affects the well-being of citizens negatively. The country might not have enough green areas and preserving them could be the need of the hour. For example the middle-east countries, where major population consists of labours and only jobs they get is in construction or oil refineries. They cannot setup a paper manufacturing industries only to appease their citizens.

Additionally, the national security of country is another factor. Leader's have many times decided to invest huge sums in purchasing fire power instead of providing food for the starving and shelter for the homeless. This does decreases the felicity of residents but ensures that those who already have food and home get to keep it that away, safe from threats of foreign invasion. Every country does this, providing any specific example would only undermine the gravity of argument.

Moreover, Financial crisis is a big pain area for any country. Decision have to be made to prevent any near future financial mishaps that might hinder the growth of country. Take for an example, the move to ban 500,1000 legal tenders in India decreased its GDP, hindered day to day life and decreased business. Almost every citizen suffered, but the leader received support from citizens, as they knew that these problems are only temporary and this will only bring their country a brighter tomorrow.

Conclusively, for any leader it is not always possible to consider the felicity of citizens. Sometimes their decisions might give importance to other things also.