Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

This argument state that formal education tends to restrain students mind and spirits rather than set them free. Some people might believe that formal education are restrict our minds. However, the following essay will argue that it is plausible to disagree with the author’s statement and present following reasons to support this point of view.

Admittedly, formal education can loss students diversity by indoctrinate equal curriculum for a long period of time. To be specific, each of students have different perspective and personalities so formal education with equal way will harmful for students to be a creative. For example, there might be some student who hate to learn a Math but by the curriculum they need to take those course forcefully, can lead their spirits suppressed by the education. Moreover, younger age of students are more easily to adapt those educations and had no power of criticize their thoughts.

However, the formal education is not just restrain the students might but help them to be creative. Most of the creative mind and thoughts can be derived by the basic knowledge. For example, innovative algorithms nowadays are based on the mathematical basis and the basic grammars of the programming languages. If we don’t take the formal education, we are hard to understand not just create new things.

Finally, at the young age with rudimental knowledge, they might not know what areas are really fit for them. Most of some students nowadays don’t have clear position of the future visions. Therefore, by learning broad area of subject can lead them to choose their career and help to be a creative by giving basic steps. Also, if they have other interest, they have plenty of chances to take an extra-education besides of formal curriculum.

To sum up, I do not agree with the author’s statement that formal education circumscribe students mind and spirits. What is the free spirits and mind? That is not just naturally occurs without any basic education. Because of those reasons that I discussed above, I strongly disagree with the statement.