Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

Education is an important matter within a society. The way a person receives knowledge and education might influence in his critical thought and creativity towards a subject. In this sense, there is people who thinks formal education restrains creativity and critical ideas since it has a strict methodology that might not create incentives to think creative and critical way. However, without formal education we would be living without the capacity to share knowledge and we would not have the capacity to spread ideas in order to begin a process of critical reasoning.

Some might say that formal education blocks the capacity to have a broader perspective about subjects. In general, formal education means standardized knowledge been transmitted for a big audience that have disparate interests which might result in a boring way to transmit ideas about a subject. In this sense, formal education provided by public schools, for example, tends to be lambasted for not provide ways to offer a learning process to their students that could make them think in a creative and critical way.

While this perspective has fair arguments, formal education could not be considered a villain when it comes to set free spirits and minds about the subjects that are transmitted to them. Formal education allows people to have access to many subjects that students would not be in touch without a standardized educational system. Public and free education was something achieved after a long struggle made by society that for centuries didn’t have access to this sort of system. Even considering that a standardized education might not be a perfect one to help in constructing free minds and thoughts, it is a beginning path to develop critical ideas. Some of the most important movements that looked for freedom of thought in contemporary days come from universities that offered standardized courses and formal education to the students.

Take the example of the rallies that happened in June of 2013 in Brazil. Millions of people in this country marched against corruption and several other social problems that this country has been facing in it recent history. Many of the protesters were people that had received formal education in public schools and universities. They were capable to develop critical ideas against government which is something connected with freedom of thoughts and spirits of the protesters. In this sense, formal education was a first step to develop ideas and receive knowledge while a second step would be to develop critical thoughts about what was learned. Without the first step, it would be difficult to develop a freedom of ideas and beliefs.

In conclusion, we can argue that formal education is very important in order to transmit a knowledge that will undergirds someone’s thinking. It’s necessary to have this sort of education in a first step in order to develop skills that allow a person to finally create an independent thinking and a freedom of spirit.