Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education is one of the utmost importance and crucial part of any person’s life. They are responsible for shaping a their career as well as their personality and their view on life as a whole. It is debatable whether in reality education limit our scope of imagination rather than broadening it. While the concern is natural it depends upon the individual itself how they chose to cultivate the knowledge acquired through education.

The purpose of the above statement is to bridge the discussion of the purpose of the education and the role that the recipient plays in it. Formal education is meant to provide a solid foundation in the career or field the person has resolved to follow. It also serves as an example of what has worked in the past and which are the most lucrative paths to a successful career. To further illustrate my point, take an example of current statistics given by ministry of human resources in India which states that the students who follow through formal education are more eighty percent more likely to achieve what they desire and bring new innovation to the society.

Taking into account the time and ardor it takes to complete a former education, it exposes people to richness of their society and environment. Most of the creative writers have undergone some kind of formal education. Those who didn’t, which is actually quite rare, had their exceptional imagination to compensate for it. Shakespeare, Steinbeck, Wordsworth and innumerable other novelist were wonderous in their mind and spirit which is apparent in their works. It is, thus, undoubtable that formal education itself restrain the creative mind of humankind but rather the temperament of the person itself.

Formal education, especially in modern capitalist society, is also culprit of luring students into a rat race of which extinguishes their originality. Few known individuals like Bill Gates had dropped out of their college mid way to pursue their own interests and they did it quite successfully too. But individuals with these kind of finesse and aptitude are few and far between. People who take these kind of route are generally more likely to end up worse. Undeniably, it should be evident the persona of an individual is more likely to restrict his own spirit than a laid down routine of learning.

Consequently, it is apparent that formal education itself is not the actual culprit for curbing the creative mind or spirit of an individual but rather the mentality of the person itself shackles his ingenious spirit.