The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of

human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans are the most superior creation in the entire history of Earth as we know of, with respect to intelligence, creativity & civilization. We are believed to have the most complex mind able to do amazing things. Still, there goes a saying, 'To err is human'. And to reduce the error and make lives more agreeable, humans invented machines, also machines that can fabricate machines. Now the author suggests that whatever the limit to which the ability of the machine culminates up to, human mind will always be superior to machines because they are merely the creations of human minds. I mostly disagree with the statement, due to three reasons.

Firstly, we have to define in what context are we measuring our superiority. Are we talking about the complex and time consuming iterative analysis of a fluid flow model? Or stress analysis of a intricately shaped object? In this cases, with respect to the parameters of time consumption and accuracy of the result produced by human minds can not parallel that of machines. We all know how machines are replacing people in the job sector and industries. So the superiority of human minds does not hold water. But if we talk about thinking out of the box, exploring endless possibilities independently, machines are always bound to a limit which does not apply to humans. So the superiority might be there, depending on the context. So we can rule out the possibilities of utmost superiority.

Further, If we recall the three rules behind Artificial Intelligence, that bounds the machines to an ever-limiting position. But that also suggests, if those rules are not followed, the emergence of machines as a superior being with a power over humanity is possible. Numerous science fiction literatures and movies have portrayed this occurrence, though unrealistic and impractical for now, the future lies ahead with many unprecedented things that are above our imagination. Providing minds to a powerful creations might backfire on humanity as they try to gain superiority and control over their own creators. We have seen recently, how some intelligent robots made for conversational purpose, while in a talk, have showed unexpectedly dark disposition that led to putting them down considering them as a potential threat. So their effort to gain superiority over humanity in future cannot be completely ruled out.

Now the reason I 'mostly' disagreed to the prompt stated is that there has been no substantial evidence of the machines revolting against human till now. The ideas have always been limited to entertainment purpose in books and movies. Proper methods and principles are established to prevent machines going out of hand.

The issue provided is very complex and requires a scientific viewpoint as well as a philosophical one. Time only can answer to this question. The creator versus creation collision might occur in future, what do we know? Thus, the superiority of human mind over machines cannot be completely supported just because the machines are used by the humans themselves.