The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves

Our society has been developing at an increased speed. Our pace of life has become faster than our ancestors’. Though life has become more convenient with the introductions of new technologies and luxurious, many advent problems have occurred. I agree that the increased speed of life has brought more problems to contemporary society, but it also has also cast some benign effects on people.

The rapid pace of life is often considered as one of the factors that cause mental illness and stress. Some professions are directly impacted by the pace of life in their communities, such as journalists and businessmen. A society that is operating at a high speed perhaps generate more activities and interactions. To inform events and outcomes of activities, journalism is probably one of the most efficient ways to spread the word. Therefore, journalists would have more events and stories to cover. Increased human interactions also mean some potential business deal forming among people, at the micro and macro level. To keep track of the business trade deal and ensure every transaction is legal, investors and accountants are required to work longer hours. A constant and high stressed environment can cause mental problems for people. And this type of environment is usually an outcome of rapid lifestyle.

An increased pace of life also causes difficulty to practice self-care. An accelerated life is usually filled with schedules, especially for people who work in big cities. People live on a daily basis from one errand to the next. When works and errands take up most of the time in someone’s life, there isn’t much space for someone to think for themselves, to distress, and to have long-term plans. Faster lifestyle also distracts people from concentrating on their current task. This environment also penetrates to students’ lives. A faster pace of academic life indicates more subjects to study. All the required studies and assignments might dry up students’ leisure time to develop their interests. Thus, they might lose opportunities to discover their passions.

Besides many adverse effects, the speedy lifestyle makes communication more expedite. Because of this increasing life pace, people are forced to be more diligent in their jobs. One-click purchase an item online then someone will deliver to your door the next day. This convenient experience of online shopping is a result of the current speed of life.

Summing it up, although the speedy function of society has addressed some issues and brought us conveniences in many aspects, it also takes up people’s free time in self-developments.