Issue 41: The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Task: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The assessment on historical events is in general done by later people. In this regard, some people might argue that the greatness of individuals can also be posthumously decided. However, I disagree with the statement because there are some prominent figures who gained the apposite eminence in their lifetime.

Granted, in some circumstances, the greatness of individuals is not fully appreciated by contemporaries. The epitome of this case could be Johann Sebastian Bach, who is in general deemed to be “the” greatest and most creative classical composer in the entire human history. In his lifetime, although he gained his fame as an organist, his significance as a composer was not fully appreciated. Therefore, much of his musical works became oblivious until Mendelssohn found one of his greatest works, “Matthew’s Passion,” in some dingy grocery shop. The complicated, sophisticated, and ineffably majestic counterpoints and tonalities that consistently appeared in that piece of music enthralled him to disseminate the Bach’s musical works to other famous composers, resulting in Bach’s gaining his fame as a composer. Now, as aforementioned, he is considered the greatest composer who ever existed, and his clout can be found every musical works, e.g., even in pop songs. As this compelling example reveals, the greatness of historical figures is often posthumously reappreciated.

Regardless of the previous case, however, there are some historical figures whose greatness is sufficiently evaluated by their contemporaries. In the case of dealing with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, he was already famous during his lifetime. As illustrated some famous movies such as “Amadeus,” he was already famous as a musical genius in the entire Europe continent. Aside from the musical field, Franklin Roosevelt can be another example. Being the only president who served more than two consecutive terms, he is now deemed to be one of the greatest US presidents. As his long-term presidency reveals, the citizens regarded him competent and suitable to help the US recover form the dismal economic crisis. As these examples reveal, there are many historical individuals whose greatness and competence are contemporarily decided.

In brief, I disagree with the statement because there are historical figures who already gained their fame and got acknowledged during their lifetime, such as Mozart and Roosevelt. Thus, citizens should not only focus on posthumous recognition and awards because there are individuals who worth their appreciation.