It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that it is more detrimental for people to ignore their beliefs and compromise with others’ opinions. I agree with this point of view to some extent.

On the one hand, I can explain why compromising with the ideas of others can be harmful. Generally, compromising means that some individuals in conversation with their counterparts ignore some parts of their beliefs despite their inner desire. In some circumstances, this condition can hurt people because they lose their confidence, self-esteem and self-reliance after a while. For example, one employee may be forced to compromise with some of the opinions of his boss while he knows that his boss is wrong. However, for having job security he decides to avoid adhering to his beliefs and change his mind for the sake of his boss. This condition can break the confidence of the employees, as most of the time managers abuse this situation to insult their workforce to have more power in their office to impose their irrational rules. I claim that compromising with mistaken ideas is wrong and shows the weakness of individuals, and people have to try to adhere to ideas that they think are fair and right because most of the time compromising can be counterproductive and make the situation worse.

However, all the time people do not have a good idea, and it is necessary for them to compromise or accept others' innovative or creative ideas if they want to progress in their lives. For example, when Galileo expressed that the earth is round, many people tried to adhere to their beliefs because of some irrational prejudices and rejected Galileo’s argument. Sometimes, adhering to specific and obsolete ideas is not good because they can curtail people’s thoughts. As a result, people should try to be broad-minded and flexible enough to accept innovation and creativity in different fields. In modern life, people have an easier life in different contexts, such as communication, just because they have tried to keep up with the time and creative ideas of some entrepreneurs, namely Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg in the realm of technology.

In conclusion, in my view, people must protect their confidence and personality by adhering to their ideas as long as they are right, and changing them in the correct way when it is necessary.