It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Human beings are always seeking for connection. From anonymous chat groups to school clubs, people we choose to socialize with often become part of who we are. That being said, do we define ourselves mainly through our social circles? Or are there facets of our personality, values, and interests that are shaped by our own doing?

It's true that we have an affinity to gravitate towards like-minded people. According to the science of attraction, we are lured by people who are similar to us, whether it be looks, personality, or values. Psychologists presume that this is due, in part, to our narcissist nature. If that is the case, it would come as no surprise for us to determine who we are by the people we hang out with. By finding out the commonalities in the friends we look for, we can gradually discover what personality traits we look up to, and perhaps come to a greater understanding of our own likes and dislikes.

However, this is not the only means of self-identification. Anyone can learn more about themselves through interactions with other people, without necessarily identifying with someone else. For example, introverts might chat with extroverts, and realize how different they are from each other, and in what ways. Same can be said of people with different values. Couples live together to understand each other more, communicate based on varied points of views, and finally learn not only more about their partner but also themselves.

Lastly, we can also define ourselves by our own doing. Aside from taking personality tests, the most basic and perhaps common way of determining who we are would be from self-introspection. In our daily life, we make countless choices that shape who we are, and face challenges that allow us to take a hard look at what we are capable of. Our decision to “let it go” or “hang on” when faced with difficulties prompt us to see inside our mind and declare whether we tend to give up or push through. Late night thoughts of what we have done during the day allow us to ponder over right and wrong, reflect on why we make particular decisions, and thus discover something new about ourselves.

To identify with social groups is a common way to help understand oneself. Yet, this is not the primary way for everyone to define who they are. Methods such as making interactions with others and reflecting more upon oneself can also take up a significant part in determining our self. We do not limit our character simply by comparing with others, for our mind can grow from communication and the complexities of our introspections.