Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporti

It is said that the people who do not confront the past also can not embrace the future. In most of ocassions, the acknowledgement of the past can help people when they need to make significant decisions presently. Viewing through the history of human beings, people learned a lot from it(indeed the one who did not take lesson from the past failed at great cost). As the most powerful emprical reference, knowing about the past would be favorable to us. I will address my views with three points.

To begin with, we should discuss the meaning of important decisions of people today. For most of us, there are lots of times in daily life we need to make decisions, hence we need the suggestions. On one hand, people can turn to help of others like parents, teachers as well as friends. On the other hand, the experince of the past would also be a teacher who could tell us what happened in this conditon before, What was the result and whether it would be the same case which in front of people to make a decisions. When it goes to the important ones, the decisions like which University to apply or which offer of job one should take, these are all need to be considerated carefully, hence the past history or to be specific, the past experince and statictics like the Universities' rank or the companies' operating condtion are all siginificant reference to one to make the choice which is important to them.

In additon, the knowledge of the past save lives.Here is the story of my father. When he was at University, he unfortunately met the most controversial students movements in China thirty years ago, in late 1980s. Maybe you heard of it a bit, the Tianan Men Square where thouands of students made parade to fight for corruptions and freedom. His friends called him to go with them to that place. While of cousre my father's history tutor knew this early. The tutor just aksed my father to stay at library and do not go to Beijing, where the students' parade even made the atuthority bring the tanks the make regular order and peace. In the end some case happened and you can go to the Wikipedia to search the details while my father was sound and safe. I really appreciate the histories' tuor's perception as in this eyes, the histories of the past were always share the same result.

Finally, there are some areas where no reference of the past could learn from, so people have to strive a new way to go. Beside the scientific area where there are lots of unknown fields, let's discuss the open policy in China, proposed by Deng Xiaoping in 1978. Firstly, the prosperity and rapid development which even worries the western countries in China is the main outcome of the open policy. As a socialism country, it was hard for people to embrace capitalism initially, while thanks to Deng Xiaoping, who designed a new policy that no country had practiced then, he combined the features of capitalism and socialism into this policy. In details, it reformed the political system and open to the foreign invsetors and companies to help Chinese economy. On this political way that never appeared before, More and more Chinese people to become rich now.