“Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places”

The author of the prompt has argued that it is necessary for laws to be flexible enough for different times, places,and circumstances. With some qualifications, I endorse this proposition: although it is important for laws to be fixed, some flexbility on the part of laws is required for them to stay relevant in society.

First, it is clear that the customs and worldviews of a society changes over time. Given that such changes are inevitable, it is important for laws to be flexible so that they can be re-conciled with the changing worldviews of their subjects. An individual of the 21st century, for instance, may not be so comfortable with the penal laws of the twentieth century, which may have included the death penalty for acts such as apostasy; he or she may want a different procedure for adressing such an issue. Accordingly, it would be important that certain changes are made to contemporary penal laws such that they can become harminous with modern ways of thinking that disavows harsh forms of punishment. This is thus an instance of a broader case in which laws need to be flexible.

Second, laws need to be flexible in order for them to be able to address emergency situations. Indeed, laws are formulated to address general conditions, not special circumstances. In the latter case , it is necessary for laws to change in accordance with the situation in question. As an example, one can point to the laws pertaining to war. In situations of war, countries may somtimes be compelled to curtail the rights of its citizens, which are otherwise enshrined in the constitution. In other emergency situations, such as epidemics, countries may have to limit the amount of wellfare services that they otherwise gurantee to their citzens; hence the overall need for laws to be flexible.

On a final note, I should admit that too much flexibility can be detrimental to the overall essence of laws. Indeed, if laws become too adhoc, then the aim with which they were intially formulated could easily be lost. For example, if the government starts detaining too many individuals on criminal charges, in the name of an emergency situation, then the overall right to due procedures and court hearing as envisioned by the framers of the laws may slowly be eroded; almost everyone could ultimately be detained without due procedures. Thus, it is important to also mantain the essence of laws by preventing them from becoming too flexible.

Overall, however, it remains the case that laws need to be flexible in order to address customary changes and emergency situations; however, they should not be so flexible that they loose their essence.