The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Most people benefit a lot from the flourish of modern society, although there’re some defects affecting the lives of some ordinary people. The continuous development of our earth is unstoppable, therefore what we can do is to take the full advantages of such development instead of thwarting this trend.

One of the adverse effects modern life has on us is that we become lazier than we were several decades ago. The convenience of fast food chains leads to the unhealthy eating habits of the public, which may cause the obesity problem among those who frequent fast food restaurants regularly. Also, it is well known that obesity has link to many potential diseases. What’s more, even if people eat home cooking cuisine, they may also ingest too much nutritions due to the luxurious life style. This trend should be paid more attention to deal with, in case many people will suffer when they grow older, thereby putting extra burden on the health care system of our society.

However, it is equally important that we shall not forget the merits of convenient modern life. Luxurious lifestyle gives people the chance to live a happier life. For example, after the 'opening and revolutionary policy’ has been laying down for more than 30 years, the living standards of ordinary Chinese people have increased dramatically. People with higher incomes are able to give their family a better life and their children a better educational opportunity, which contributes a lot to the prosperity of China in the long run.

In addition, people are more likely to know better about the outside world with the use of technology which is an appealing feature of contemporary life. The technological industry has experienced a soaring development in the past decades, which enables the public to acquire more information and learn more disciplines only using the computer and internet. Also, It is not imaginable that we can get to know strangers without seeing them in person. Such an opportunity to know the outside world remotely makes people who don’t receive good education in their young ages have the chance to craft their life skills such as programming, management and etc.

In sum, despite of the flaws modern life brings to our society, such as obesity and other related health problems, the overall benefits it draws on people should not be overlooked. Our society should dig more merits of contemporary life and overcome the shortcomings of it to make our world a better place to live.