The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now

are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History is said to be the study of our ancestors. It is pivotal in understanding the life and operations of earlier generations. But, it serves a far greater purpose than providing information from the past. In the prompt, it says that the main benefit from history

is to refute the claims that the people from different generations are fundamentally different. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the claim for the following two reasons.

To begin with, history provides us evidence and information about our ancestors and their functionality, which is totally in contrast with the current establishments. Many of the earlier civilizations were barbaric and would maunder the plains in search of food. To illustrate, the neanderthals were the earliest people to have walked the earth. They were nomadic in nature and would hunt, live in caves and wore animal skin to protect themselves. Over the centuries, these characteristics evolved to give a civilized man. The early Roman empire was completely scattered with multiple small barbaric civilizations, these barbarians didn't have a set of rules and would plunder and destroy anything in their path. These examples show how historical evidences help in understanding the evolution and throws light on how different the people were in ancient times.

To add further, people in ancient times were considered to be more intellectual and highly orthodox compared to the current generation. There are evidences of human sacrifices in exchange for better rain, crops, infants, etc. In early Mayan civilization, people were left to die in open pits so as to please the Sun god. There have been innumerable instances of animals being offered as a gift to gods. Different crop circles, cave paintings depicting rituals show how fearful and orthodox our ancestors were compared to the 21st century. These instances show how people and their practices have changed over the centuries and are completely in contrast to present day society.

One might argue that there have been a lot of similarities as well, like the Indus valley civilization. The sites of Mohenjodaro which have been excavated gave earliest evidences of currency exchange, multi storied buildings, drainage, etc. People migrating to different places in search of job(prevalent in now) has been observed when remains from a middle eastern burial had links with mohenjodaro. There have been illustrations of language being used as a means of communication, paintings being done as a piece of art, etc. All these give evidence that a part of our current livelihood can be derived from history. But, considering this as the main benefit of history truly undermines the contribution of history to the society. It would be rather an important contribution than to be considered a pivotal one.