Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

In our lives we encounter a stage where searching for an answer to a particular question, rather than finding that we find answers for another completely unrelated topic. But this cannot be said for discoveries and inventions. In my opinion, it is the hardwork and perseverance of the man behind the invention is what led to the final product and not any accident or mishappening. So, I disagree with the author that discoveries are accidental and are usually made while seeking answers to another question.

There is a popular saying that ' Rome was not built in a day'. It was the sheer persistence and tireless construction carried out by the workers that led to the invention. Similarly, it takes a number of years of research and work in that field that leads to inventions and not mere accidents. Right from the creation of electric bulb in 1880 by Edison to the discovery of Nobel Prize-winning blue 'Light-emmiting diode

(LED)' by Japanese researches, all were purposefully sought and a product of a number of painstaking years. In fact, this list becomes even longer when we consider the inventions of DNA structures, photoelectric effect, atom structures, etc. These inventions would never occur if the scientists only depended on accidental research and never took the efforts needed.

However, there are some inventions that have taken place accidentally. It is fair to say that the Newton's discovery of Gravitation Law had a chance element in the falling of an apple. However, the number of these discoveries taking place by serendipity are far less. To set the record straight no layman can discover the X-rays from a glowing screen, microwave from melting a chocolate, laws of gravity and so on. It is several years of hardwork that led to these inventions even though they may have occured accidentally. So, the possibility of an accidental discovery must not be ruled out totally but one must also not become fully dependent that inventions will spring out accidentally.

In conclusion, this statement in my opinion goes too far in relying on accidents. It overlooks the effort needed by researches to bring about these inventions and fails to consider the myriad discoveries where 'intent' was the key. It focuses more on the 'trial and error' methodology which in these times do not work.