In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Imagination is indeed necessary for a myriad of human activities. However, whether it is always more important than knowledge in any field cannot easily be determined. Although some people argue that imagination is the most significant factor for all areas, some others gainsay this idea and emphasize the role of knowledge. While both opinions have appropriate points, I believe that knowledge is more decisive in most academic and professional fields.

Certainly, it cannot be denied that some areas of human activities require imagination as an inevitable ability. For example, the majority of subfields in arts including music, fine arts, and cinematography rely on human beings’ imagination. It is hard to think that a person without creative imaginations can be successful in producing masterpieces. In addition, even many academic fields admit the role of imagination in designing new hypotheses and research topics. As for historical research, especially regarding ancient history, the question of how people in the past behaved and reacted is usually made based on the imagination about their lifestyles.

However, despite the aforementioned functions, it is difficult to conclude that imagination is more significant than knowledge in any case. In contrast, knowledge is still the most central part of most academic studies. Although I mentioned the role of imagination above, it does not mean that imagination itself can generate a reasonable hypothesis. Although the imagination about the past can be a starting point to conduct historical studies, what develops these studies is a critical analysis of historical sources. These sources can include chronicles, letters, archival records, tombstones, and then some. Any sort of logical conclusion should be derived from these sources, not mere imagination. This rule is applied to other academic fields, such as science, anthropology, and economics, to name a few. Even in the case of arts, knowledge is not less important than imagination if academic research studies of arts are related. As an example, academic articles or dissertations written about ancient buildings or relics from Egypt, India, and Greece should refer to a number of historical sources and data rather than depends on imagination.

Furthermore, many professions that are not specifically associated with the academic world have to focus on knowledge more than imagination. For example, businessmen have to maintain a wide range of knowledge about global and domestic economic conditions. Imagination about such conditions is not helpful for those businessmen to devise their strategies and catch the best chance for their business. Even in case we talk about some experts of arts, the significance of knowledge does not diminish. It is a fact that a lot of great film directors have learned about many fields including politics, philosophy, and science to make their films more realistic and articulated. Even though their imagination provides a blueprint for those films, the films cannot be finalized without further research about relevant knowledge. Therefore, it can be said that knowledge is even quite important for some groups of artists.

To sum up, I can admit that imagination is truly significant for various fields of human activities. However, it does not mean that it is always more important than knowledge. In contrast, most academic fields require knowledge as the first asset, and many professional fields, even including the artistic ones, need diverse sorts of knowledge. Thus, I can say that knowledge is more significant than imagination in general.