A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is very important for overall development of a human being. So, it is important that the content that students study is of high quality. By studying same national curriculum it can be ensured that all students have same foundation knowledge when they enter the college. In my opinion, I agree completely with the prompt for below reasons.

The advantage of same national curriculum is that it requires all public schools and private schools to teach same thing to students. Otherwise, the scenario is, the syllabus taught by private and public schools differs greatly and thus creating two different strata among students. In some cases, public schools run by local or national governments may not be able to provide the education that matches the quality of education provided by privates schools and vice versa. For instance, some private schools may teach computer science as one subject for their students and some public schools may not be able to afford computers and specialized faculty to teach computers and hence when public school students come to college they will be lacking academic knowledge of computers.

Moreover, since the subjects which students study are same all over the nation, it is very helpful for teachers and students who change schools for different reasons. If different schools had different curriculum, teachers will have to get used to the curriculum and adapt their teaching methods accordingly. But, with the presence of common syllabus across the nation, it will be very easy for teachers to teach effectively as they get transferred to another school. The same thing applies to students also. When a student gets admission to a different school in the middle of a semester, in a different place, the student can easily catch up on the subjects because of the same curriculum. If the subjects were different in both the schools, it would have been difficult for the student to get adjusted in a short period of time.

Students from different educational backgrounds get admitted to college. Having a common knowledge base helps students to communicate better and make friendship. The difference in knowledge base may cause a feeling of inferiority in some students who come from schools that are of low standards. The common national curriculum eliminates this barrier among students.

However, some people may argue that, all students may not be able to afford the school education if the common curriculum made by government is very costly. Many students come from poor economical background, if the cost of education is very high because of the national curriculum, it is very difficult to pay for it. But, if the government takes responsibility to prepare a cost effective and highly knowledgeable curriculum, all students will be able to take up the education. Thus, it can be agreed that all students must study the same national curriculum until college.