Art can be appreciated in multiple forms like novel, poem, song or film; each of which has a different way of being appreciated by people. Since, recognition for each form can be achieved through different means I do not think that for forms of art have to be understandable to most people to have merit.

Firstly, we have seen from recent events in the music industry show that it is not necessary for everything to be comprehensible in order to be praised. For example, the hit song Despacito and Opa Gangum Style become globally known despite them having no English and not being understood by majority of their viewers. Along with that BTS, a Korean boy band, has been gaining global fame even though most of their songs are not in English. Not only that BTS has been leading the global Billboards for most of their releases. This holds true only for the music industry as to appreciate music on does not fully rely on the lyrics, the rhythm, tune and beat also offer assistance in deciding whether a song is good or not. For art forms like movies and novels this does not hold true.

Movies are all about the story and their characters; if the story is not understood by the viewers then the art does not gain merit easily. For example, while recent events show that there is an increase in appreciation for K-drama and Korean movies, it is only because English subtitles are available for the viewers. Without that form of assistance no one would be able to understand the story and enjoy the art. However, this is not always true as even in movies can be gain merit based on their soundtracks, visuals or cinematography. if a movie has good cinematography or the visuals are beautiful then the viewers would not need to fully understand the story through narrative in order to appreciate the movie. Visuals would assist the viewers in partially understanding what is going on in the movie, and help viewers or critics show that the movie has merit. Of course art does not always need to be understandable for be appreciated.

If we think of the modern paintings seen in museums we notice how the regular viewer will not be able to understand them yet they also won't be able to take their eyes of the painting. Art that is ambiguous to viewers attracts them as it arouses curiousness. The viewer keeps looking at the painting to understand the painters emotions and the art which makes them appreciate how much time went into the art's development and complexity of the art form. For example, not everyone can appreciate the reasons for which Mona Lisa is a artistic treasure. However, everyone can appreciate the complexity the painting, the difficulty of creating the painting in the time period it was made and the efforts of the painter. Through those points majority of the viewers are able to reach a conclusion that the painting does have merit and must be appreciated.

It would be difficult to state that all art forms must be understood by majority of the viewers in order to have merit. As not all art forms require complete comprehension by the viewers; along with that, an ambiguous feeling toward art can lead to curiosity towards the art and assist viewers in deciding that the art has merit based its complexity alone.