As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The discovery of a light bulb by Edison and telephone by Graham Bell have been a life changing invention for the mankind. From satellites to even the smallest machines, what seemed to be a distant dream is a reality in today's time. Technology, inventions and discoveries are the result of human's cusrosity and creativity. These inventions have time and again come to mankind's rescue. Not only it has made our lives easier, it also help us to comabat the most difficult problems be it global warming or the depleting resources. The author here argues that since people are relying more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. While it true that technology has eased human life, by providing us with all the necessary comforts, in order to make any concrete statement it is necessary to not jump to any conclusion and look at the complete picture.

Electricity by far has been regarded as the greatest invention of mankind. Not only it made our lives easier, it has proved as a great energy source for places not accessible to human. It is true that our increased dependance on technology is a matter of concern, but what we fail to admire is the fact that all the inventions and devices are man made. It was the human brain which toiled retlessly for decades and centuries to find the greatest application of theoretical sciences and brought them to live. We need to realise that although we are becoming more and more dependent on the man made devices, at the same time human race is also working to out do itself and improve in all stratas of science and technology. Recent times have seen an increased interest in the STEM's and numerous RnD labs have been established in every nook and corner of the world. With the support and motivation of the governments technology is reaching new heights, and all this would not have been possible if the ability of humans to think themselves was deteriorating.

But we cannot neglect the fact the humans have increased their dependence on technology and the percentage of population who is actually directly invloved in research and development is pretty low. The pre-historic human who use to live caves, had more challenging day to day acitivities which required a great amount of critical thinking. The current generation did not have to face such problems. They got everything served on the platter. Take the example of increased usage of mobile phones. Kids these days are provided with mobile phones very early. Although it is necessary to walk with the fast paced world, it is necessary we see the long term harm these devices cause on the human brain. Earlier kids used to play outdoors which used to not only keep them healthy, but also inculcate the values of team work and brotherhood. The affects of the increased dependance of technology is something which cannot be ignored.

It is true that more and more reliance on technology to solve problems has many drawbacks, it is necessary to appreciate the positive affect of science in the development of the human kind. We must work to develop the applications of the theoretical sciences to best benefit of humans. In order to inculcate crtical thinking in humans, we must educate oursleves with the right and limited ussage of these devices. People should engage in more and more outdoor activities in order to have an overall development. Change is the only constant. Everyday brings with it a new development in the field of science and technology, which must be put to best use for the needy and helpless.