As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim regarding pros and cons of technology development have been heatedly discussed. I agree that there are certain adverse points in the advancement of science and technology in that we become lazy and over-dependent on machines, and people are prone to have deteorioation of communication skills and human connection. Nonetheless, this argument minimises the significance of how we are positively influenced by the improved technology.

On the one hand, some individual argue that the technological development has engendered people becoming reluctant to engage in doing works and lazy. As a vivid example, since the introduction of laundry machine, the majority of people hardly try to learn manual method of cleaning clothes. Additionally, compared to the past when library was the main source of academic information, it is rarely used for the reason now, because of the internet. Furthermore, the technology advancement brought about noxious effects on human interaction and their social behaviour. Over time the most of us make use of social media, involve in computer or mobile games or associate with others online. During the course, many start losing communication skills needed for the colloquial conversation and developing antisocial behaviours.

While these negative aspects devaluate the meaning of technology improvement, there are certainly overstriding benefits from it. First of all, we can take advantage of computers, mobile phones, automated factory, by which our working performance and efficiency have been greatly enhanced. To elucidate further on this example, computer enabled us to create documents in no time and correspond with business counterparts who live in other continentals. Secondly, we benefit from sophisticated technology for our economic growth, quality of life, housing, infrastructure etc. Delving into them, transport facilities such as roads, cars has accelerated the traffic flow across the country or between the nations, which have helped national and international trade and market. Moreover, agricultural intesification was attributed to the development of agricultural machinery, chemical fertiliser or pesticides and so on.

The above arguments bespeak that the technology development can create both merits and dismerits. While it is certainly true that we are also negatively affected by it, however we also are given tremendous benefits from it for improved national development, living standards and the like. Therefore, we should aim for investing more on technology advancement and maximizing its contribution to our life.