As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Emergence of techonoloy is inevitable, with people's dependence of technology to solve problems increasing rapdily. Does that imply that the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate? Some people surely would say that it'll deteriorate, but a more thoughtful, comprehensive evaluation of the situation would change their opinions. There is no denying that people are relying more and more on technology and it's a auspicious situation to be in.

First and foremost, the insatiable hunger to technological advancements capable of solving more sophisticated and intricate problems of our mundane life is pushing people all over the would to look for more and more ingenious solutions and paradigms. This, to say the least, is helping people expand their thinking and knowledge, which in no sense deteriorating the ability of human to think of themselve. Arguably, it will only help people make better decisions, as time spent on solving intricate problems push our intellectual horizons.

Secondly, the time saved due to technological advancements is mammoth to say the least. With many of our quotidian task automated, we can better utilize our time and focus on stuff of primacy. Washing machine to do our laundary, motor vehicle to help us travel long distances in relatively short times, productivity tools like spell and grammar check to avoid embarrassing mistakes are helpful, many saving us time, some helping us become more productive.

However, some people would argue that technology is deteriorating our thinking citing examples like people's inability to do basic stuff like mathematical calculations etc. Well, I do agree that too much on blind reliance on technology is deterrent to our thinking ability. Even seemingly simple stuff like navigating city would seem daunting in the absence of technology, if everything fails. This is bound to have detrimental effects on our intellect, and might even end up deteriorating our ability to think for ourselves.

In conclusing, I would like to say that technology is both boon and bane. However, looking at its multitude of benifits, I'm more inclined to say that it's more boon than bane. Used appropriately, avoiding too much reliance, is definitely a propitious to the interest of humanking.