A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Society is a complex system comprising of many ingredients. The people that constitute the society are inter-connected in one way or another. In this social sphere, there are people who hold moral views above anything else and there are people who sometimes get deviated from the path and do things that maybe they didnot want to. The prompt suggests that people who do the later one, should be denied of any kind of civil right and should not be let to enjoy the earnings from his labor. This statement holds a very strong position against the people who commit a crime. However, the situation is a prime concern here. Depending on the situation, the scenario might change.

To begin, social contract dictates that people should share a common place in harmony and no human should be harmed in any way by another human being. Well, sometimes there are exceptions. Somtimes people find themselves caught up in situations very badly. The prompt says, whoever commits crime is a deal-breaker. But, here, the extent of the crime is a cruicial factor. For instance, shoplifting is definitely a crime, so is killing people ruthlessly. If we start judging these two things on the same scale, then this is not correct. In case of shoplifting, yes, the person is not doing a very moral thing. He/she is hurting the shop owner financially. But in case of murderes, they are taking someone's life and letting their family suffer. So, judging them in the same way will be an injustice to the first person. He/she should not be denied of their rights only beacuse they picked up two oranges on their way out.

Further, when someone loses track from moral pathway, it is society's duty to find out what caused it. Becasue humans are the core ingredient of the society, it is the society that needs to deal with the consequences. For instance, in case of the shoplifter, maybe his/her financial condition is very bad. Maybe they would not do such a thing normally but situation forced them to be. Maybe they got a family to support and the economy being bad and the complications with the job, they are running short of money. So, it would not be wise to evaluate the situation based on just "that one incident". Also, for the killer, the society should find out what is the root cause that made him to be like this. Maybe, he had a very troubling childhood, maybe his family had the misfortunate way to die and he did not get justice. The anguish could possibly be responsible for his current condition. This proves that, without knowing the backstory, we can judge a person, but we should not.

Then again, the society's roles also need to be discussed on what measures is being taken to correct the behaviors of these accused people. Sure, people can do bad things on an impulse, but they should be given proper chance to correct themselves. Also, crime needs to be punished, sure, But if we punish different levels of crimes the same way, it is simply not fair. And the earnings that they sought by their own labor, that should absolutely not be denied, because, no matter what they did, this has nothing to do with it. If they need to be punished, be it, but their personal gains should not be seized.

Although people might say, if we let go of small crimes that easily, it might increase in the long run. But, if people who commit crimes are dealt with care and moral righteousness, this will be much more effective than any punishment ever.