Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both a high comfort level and a fear of the unknown.

We live in a world of competition, in order to keep survive in this world, every creature is trying hard to adapt to the changes of the world, otherwise we will be replaced or eliminated by the superior ones. A great society should encourage the living things whether animals or human beings to embrace innovations and adaptations. However, the reality is that every change is a suffering process. We are so obsessed with the comfortable environment we get used to, that we are less inclined to abandon current cozy life and make a different one, not guaranteeing the same good standard as before. Although it is recognized as uncomfortable, we realize those who succeed and stand till the last minute are the ones who are willing to make the first move, to accept the changes. No matter how difficult the situation is, we have more possibilities of winning and success by allowing for new thinking and acting.

It is rational for people to hold the idea of making changes in their thinking and acting, because it is risky. People tend to behave cautious and fastidious when making a decision in life. Fearing for failure and conflict, people are less willing to face the negative consequences the changes might lead to. And it is totally acceptable to double consider the proposal and conduct multiple experiments to ensure a pleasant result. Because once the project fails, the impact is significant and unbearable.

Furthermore, people think changes are unnecessary, as long as they sense their environment is safe and secure. Then why we bother a change? It is also understandable that during a certain period of time when everything goes on right order and nothing is challenging or harming the current harmony, we don’t need to make adjustment and change. The society is operating right on it track. One scenario is that a factory is running on a relatively old machine, but it still can afford the overall capacity of company’s order and can keep the company grow business, then there is no such need to think and act in a different way.

But when we take a look in a long term of development, we will realize the issue. Why people starts to think of an adjustment or innovation? Most likely due to current uncomfortable situation or challenge. If our environment is so comfortable then there is no reason to make a change. Nothing stays stasis in our world. The environment in which we felt comfortable yesterday may become miserable today, we are forced to adapt, to modify, to innovate regardless of how much pain and suffer we may endure in this process. The consequence of repudiating new thinking and acting is obsolete. The nature gives us the answer: animals unwilling to move their homes before storm comes will hardly survive in this disaster.

To summarize, it is tolerable for a society to stay in a comfortable zone for some time. We collect and restore our energy to get ready for the next challenge, since the comfortable zone is not going to sustain in a long term. A great society should be well-considered for the challenges in the future. Even though the road of changes may be difficult, the hope is: we still have another 50% of chances to success. We cannot allow the obstacles and constraints to stagnate our steps moving forward. Progress, in a long term is our aim for survive.